Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: FI Tuning - Using VE VS: MAF Calibration

FI Tuning - Using VE VS: MAF Calibration

I am just starting out. I'm nearly done with my ATI install and I have what I think is a good baseline tune to start from (IFR scaled for 42# injectors, timing tables adjusted for boost and PE values upped) and when I'm done with my install I had planned to tune the VE based on the LTFTs but a friend pointed out that VE tuning with a supercharger is impossible because the VE table's MAP values end at atmospheric which leaves only MAF calibration to be able to play with. Doesn't seem like a good idea to tune all <= atmospheric values with the VE and then any > atmospheric with MAF calibration. Seems like it would be better to choose one or the other.

Or am I thinking of it wrong? Will boost automatically put me in PE mode? The only factors I find for PE Enable are TPS and MAP which are both set pretty low (~19% TPS and 15 KPa MAP).

I thought I had a game plan and now I'm starting to think otherwise.

Now that I've rambled the question is: When tuning an FI setup is it better to tweak VE or MAF calibration?
    Last edited by 5_Liter_Eater; 12-19-2005 at 04:35 PM.
    Bill Winters

Former owner/builder/tuner of the FarmVette
    Out of the LSx tuning game

YES!!!

LOL....I know people hate it when you answer that way sometimes..LOL

simply put think of PE Enable MAP as an arming switch saying that its ok to use PE
    and think of theTPS as to fire and use it

you really need to tune the VE before you tune the MAF as the MAF is only a steady state thing...all throttle changes are done with the VE..
    you cant tune the MAF until the VE is correct

I suggest using a wideband,
    and you can set TPS to be higher than 19......
    even just a small reduction(like 10%-20% lower than stock values)works well...
    its up to you in the end on when you want PE to kick in
    -Scott -