Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: first time HPtuners, 06 cobalt SS 2.4 NA AUTO, just want some recommendations

first time HPtuners, 06 cobalt SS 2.4 NA AUTO, just want some recommendations

Hey guys, i just got back in the GM world again after a 4 year run with honda's, finally out of that now. Picked myself up a 2006 cobalt SS 2.4 NA automatic like ive been wanting for years for a great deal. It's needed some TLC but nothing beyond what i could handle as a moonlighting home mechanic. Ive been tuning honda's for 4 years now, and its a completely different world from GM's, but i have two good friends who are very fluent with HPtuners and V8 tuning and they are guiding me through the process. I downloaded the full tune file from the car tonight and ive been exploring and evaluating what features and changes I want to make the first time around and I wanted to get some input first regarding the changes im about to make. I'm not making any variable valve timing changes until I fully understand the way that works and can do so at the track.

Ive considered the following changes thus far...

PE Enrich Ramp in to 1.0 from .01
    PE RPM Delay 4000 RPM
    COT Lean Cruise Disabled (Cat Over Temp)
    TCS (traction control) ECT and SPARK Control Disable
    FAN PWM Range for AC and NON AC ECT Tables Increase by 50%
    AC DISABLE RPM 4250 (kept AC on to 6k stock)
    AC RE-ENGAGE RPM 4000
    AC DISABLE TPS - 75%
    AC RENABLE TPS - 65%
    IAT and ECT Spark Correction BASE Tables Dialed Back to Higher Limits and Less Timing
    MAIN SPARK ADVANCE BASE TABLE - +2* @ >.52 g/cyl to 25-26* TOTAL WOT TIMING (High RPM) 18-21* TOTAL WOT TIMING (Mid Range)

TRANS WOT SHIFT RPM INCREASE 5% to 6850
    BASE SHIFT PRESSURE PATTERN X - 15% Increase
    UPSHIFT BR/PWR ON - 10% Increase
    DOWNSHIFT BASE PRESSURE - 15% Increase for 2,3,4th gear
    BURST KNOCK RETARD HOLD AND DECAY TIME CHANGE