Thread: Please help me understand what these LTFT's mean

Please help me understand what these LTFT's mean

I am new to this, reading everything I can, and trying to make sense of it, would appreciate any help/advice.

My car is a 1970 Camaro, LS 376/480 GM crate engine (cam specs are 219/228 duration, .525" lift), using GMPP controller package (E67 ECM, and as I understand it, an OS unique to the GMPP crate engines). The attached log was made with the original unaltered calibration from GMPP.

I am using an NGK AFX wideband which has been calibrated in free air according to instructions. The engine has long-tube headers, and all the O2's are in the "collector" area. The air intake is 4", fed by a small scoop below the radiator, and there is an airflow straightening device upstream of the MAF sensor.

I have attached a screen shot of a representive area I would like help with. The conditions are light throttle cruise at around 60 mph. I see AFR's from the wideband in the low 14's--I would guess that an average value would be about 14.3. At the same time, LTFT's are +9-10. If I understand this correctly, this means that the factory O2 sensors are detecting a lean condition and "asking for more fuel". However, if my wideband is correct, with the LTFT's adding fuel it is actually running overly rich. I intend to "calibrate" my MAF sensor using the technique outlined in Dan Maslic's book, but before I do that, I am thinking I need to know that I can trust my wideband O2 sensor.

Any comments or suggestions?

OE WOT + hwy cruise.hpl
    Original tune 6-15-13.hpt
    6-15-13.cfg
    Attached Images Attached Images

~14.2 is an average AFR in CL for E10 fuel. I suspect your WB is OK. Most fuels are oxygenated in the US now.

Since you are learning to tune, learn Lambda and forget AFR, you will be happier in the long run.

In CL regardless of fuel type the Lambda sensors adjust the mixture to the stoich of the fuel, 1.0 Lambda. ~14.2 AFR for E10 gasoline.