Thread: help tuning ltft's

Potential Tuner

help tuning ltft's

i have a 98 grand prix gtp with a basic 3.4 setup, i am needing some help tuning. mods are cold air intake, headers/3" downpipe no cat, no egr, 3.4 pulley, casper fuel pump rewire, al 605 plugs, zzp catback. i am new to tuning and going off of http://www.grandprixforums.net/start...ers-43997.html but i cant seem to figure out how to tune my ltft's. i do everything the guide says to do. disabled pe, reset my fuel trims went on a 30min drive loaded all data and my maf/ltft histogram is 0.0 or 0.1 in all boxes. before i reset my fuel trims they were all over tho. ive read a bunch of different things and all of them say different things. some say only reset fuel trims 1x, and the guide i linked says to reset every time. why are my fuel trims 0.0/0.1? did i setup my histogram wrong? i know my fuel trims will be like alot farther off than that without resetting. my aeroforce reads +8/-8. is there a better way to tune my ltft's?
    Attached Files Attached Files

Tuner in Training
    Try this.....

Make a histogram that averages the LTFT. The top X axis is MAF Hz, 1500,1625,1750,1875,2000,2125,2250,etc.........

Filter the data by eliminating Fuel Trim Cells that are 1 and lower.... [PID.6310]>1

That will eliminate idle and decel fueling from messing with the numbers

Copy the averages and transfer to excel or other equivalent doc editor. Kingsoft SPreadsheets are free.

Take the LTFT numbers and convert to a multiplier. (LTFT*0.01)+1=Multiplier

That will give you 1.01 for 1%, 0.98 for -2%, 1.1011 for 1.1%, and so on.

Once you have the multipier calculated, multiply that against the MAF table used in the PCM file from the log. The modified maf table is the corrected table. Paste that in, flash, reset trims and log to see how well it did.