Thread: Turbo tuning for a 07 gmt900. 07 or 08 flash?

Tuner in Training

Turbo tuning for a 07 gmt900. 07 or 08 flash?

Im kinda confused here (what a surprise), i have a 2007 gmt900 silverado with a 5.3 and a rear mount 70mm turbo. I ordered my hpt yesterday and im fixing to try it myself. Ive beeen told to use a 2008 OS instead of my 07 file. can anyone shed some light on this?

And here is my combo and goal.

2007 silverado.
    stock 5.3
    homemade rear mount setup
    70mm turbo
    zr1 take out 52's

Would like to run SD if possible.

This is my first time trying anything like this so any advice on starting would be nice.

Ive beeen told to use a 2008 OS instead of my 07 file. can anyone shed some light on this?
    Yeah, dont do it. Custom OS flashes are generally considered risky business with these gen IV ecms. Im no expert by any means but I sure have seen my fair share of "roasted my ECM when i flashed new OS etc" when talking gen IV systems so for starters, dont do that.

As for how to sort out the rest of your tune? Cant help ya much I have no clue whats going in boost land yet. I have found the stickies to be very helpful when needed and the forced induction and tuning sections of LS1tech will have some good info for you there too.

Good luck

^ what?

OP, flash a 2.5bar OS onto your truck, get an LS9 MAP sensor, and have a blast.
    Gray Ghost- The abomination. 2007 Chevrolet Silverado CCSB. 98mm turbo, nitrous, 428LSX, Rossler 80E with a brake. Finally finished. 23 psi, no numbers, Slow as hell.

PBM G8- Aluminum 364, twin Precision 67/66 turbos, 6L90 trans swap, CTS-V/Vaporworx fuel system, slowly making progress.

Dads 2011 CTS-V- Stock bottom end, stock heads, LS9 cam, pullies, ported blower, ported TB, D3 goodies, and lots of nitrous.
    618/618 motor
    906/862 spray

Caterpillar 50 Forklift- Duramax swap

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by IDRIVEAG8GT View Post
    ^ what?