Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: OBD2 Readiness, P0420

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    45

    OBD2 Readiness, P0420

    Okay, so I have a high flow cat, which has no angled bung, and it throws P0420. No problem, disable right? Well, 2 years later, it is time for emissions, and since I have it disabled, apparently that means the OBD2 test will never complete, from what I gather.

    I think this is also preventing the cat status from going ready too, and I am only allowed 1 monitor to be in the not ready state. My evap is also currently not ready, which is likely my own fault since I disconnected the battery to check on a wheel sensor issue.

    So, what are other people doing to deal with this? I just need to know if I need to throw my stock DP on, and go with a stock tune. What a PITA if that is the case, but I'll do that if I need to. There doesn't seem to be the option for "No error reported" like in other ECUs.

  2. #2
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,088
    Post tune file

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    45
    Attached
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,088
    I have seen a couple of these files before but have not dealt with them.
    I would try different settings to see if there is one like the older 3 - do not report

  5. #5
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    419
    PM sent.

  6. #6
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    45
    Sorry, I'm used to everyone talking LNF on this forum. I forget there are other engine types on this subforum.

  7. #7
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    45
    Gonna another local LNF that I tuned to see what his readiness states are. If his set, I'll just keep trying to do the damn readiness procedure.

  8. #8
    Advanced Tuner |V3nom|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denham Springs, LA
    Posts
    366
    im running a catless dp on my sky rl with no codes disabled and no codes thrown. o2 extender FTW!
    2008 Sky RL

  9. #9
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    419
    I didnt think the P0420 diabled would throw a code. A LSJ I have tuned, along with mine, has gone through emissions with no problems.

  10. #10
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    45
    I checked another car I tuned around here, and it does go ready eventually, so I guess it's back to driving. Thanks folks.

  11. #11
    Senior Tuner cobaltssoverbooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    1,936
    if u disable a code to dnr your emissions will never completely finish.
    i have a dnr rear o2 for my catless dp and everytime i check the readiness the catalyst will never complete but everything else will.
    DD:
    2013 Chevy Sonic Turbo - Bone Stock
    Ecotec help can be found here:
    LNF-http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...357-LNF-Guides
    LSJ-http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...965-LSJ-Guides

  12. #12
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    45
    It's set to disable, option 0. It set O2 readiness on the car I tuned, despite the fact that I disabled it, which surprised me, but also made me quite happy. Saves me from having to swap the stock DP in.

  13. #13
    Senior Tuner cobaltssoverbooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    1,936
    Yea thats awesome its gonna pass emissions. Must not be in ca that's for sure
    DD:
    2013 Chevy Sonic Turbo - Bone Stock
    Ecotec help can be found here:
    LNF-http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...357-LNF-Guides
    LSJ-http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...965-LSJ-Guides

  14. #14
    Senior Tuner Iam Broke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,249
    Quote Originally Posted by Wangspeed View Post
    It's set to disable, option 0. It set O2 readiness on the car I tuned, despite the fact that I disabled it, which surprised me, but also made me quite happy. Saves me from having to swap the stock DP in.
    That's what my '08 did also, but I had to pass a visual as well so the stock DP went on for a week every two years.

    Garage Queen-'12 T3 2SS/RS LS3 M6 Camaro. TVS 2300 & stuff on corn squeezins'

  15. #15
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,088
    Quote Originally Posted by Iam Broke View Post
    That's what my '08 did also, but I had to pass a visual as well so the stock DP went on for a week every two years.
    So as long as there is no visual inspection,
    Let say you removed all emissions like rear o2 evap etc etc
    Setting Dtc to 0 will have the rediness test report that it ran and passed?

  16. #16
    Senior Tuner cobaltssoverbooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    1,936
    no it reports that that system is not installed which will raise a flag in the federal computers therfore you fail.
    most smog shops following the new 50 state have to verify catalyst installation with a visual inspection so again most people fail there too as im sure iambroke avoided with the factory swap every 2 years. iirc from the ca smog license info board that externders are not allowed either so if the guy knows what hes doing anyone with a fake look a like cat will fail at the sight of a rear o2 extender, but its been almost a year since ive researched that with the smog boards. could have changed by now stupid cali and their retarded smog and taxes
    DD:
    2013 Chevy Sonic Turbo - Bone Stock
    Ecotec help can be found here:
    LNF-http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...357-LNF-Guides
    LSJ-http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...965-LSJ-Guides

  17. #17
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,088
    On the other OS if you set to IIRC 3 do not report, then scanned with Tech2 and looked at IM readiness test, they would report as Ran and Passed.

    So with these OS' there is no such setting?

    (it seems there way more settings for this OS like 21 etc)

  18. #18
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    45
    I dunno why some of you guys don't believe me. I'll post a SS after it sets. Pick option 0 - Disable. It set every OBD2 readiness monitor to Ready state.

  19. #19
    Senior Tuner Iam Broke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,249
    Quote Originally Posted by Wangspeed View Post
    I dunno why some of you guys don't believe me. I'll post a SS after it sets. Pick option 0 - Disable. It set every OBD2 readiness monitor to Ready state.
    That's what mine did Wang, if I still had it I'd post it also. Maybe it was an early '08 thing. I had one of the XX vin lot (early production test run).

    Garage Queen-'12 T3 2SS/RS LS3 M6 Camaro. TVS 2300 & stuff on corn squeezins'

  20. #20
    Senior Tuner cobaltssoverbooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    1,936
    good guess but i got 1st ss in socal for 08 and the first three months were the test run vins so i dont we are that special lol
    i tell you what though i havent had a reflash for about three weeks now so ill scan it today and post it.
    DD:
    2013 Chevy Sonic Turbo - Bone Stock
    Ecotec help can be found here:
    LNF-http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...357-LNF-Guides
    LSJ-http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...965-LSJ-Guides