Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Scan 96-97 LT1

  1. #1
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sikeston, MO
    Posts
    129

    Scan 96-97 LT1

    I'm trying to remember, I thought I had saw a thread that said HP Tuners could scan (not write) a 96-97 LT1 vehicle. I was hoping somebody could confirm, I'm about to expand into them and need to make sure I have the scanning solution lined out.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Advanced Tuner Montecarlodrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Posts
    532
    The scanner connects and scans just fine.
    It was a long time I tried and don't remember how many parameters you can scan, or if you can log useful PID's and make histograms for tuning purposes.

    I'm going to have a LT1 in my hands in a few days, I'll post results.

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    27
    I successfully scanned a 96 OBD2 LT1 with HPTuners last week. You won't be overly excited with the number of fields available though.
    Cheers,
    Brady

  4. #4
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sikeston, MO
    Posts
    129
    Thanks! I understand it will be limited, but if I can log MAF and WB at the same time, I'm good to go!

  5. #5
    Advanced Tuner Montecarlodrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Posts
    532
    MAF Hz isn't supported, at least in a 97 Vortec Pickup I scanned yesterday

    I really really miss a good scanner for 96-97 LT1, MAF tunning would be a lot easier

  6. #6
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    sunny So Cal
    Posts
    211
    here is what I have used

    The 96-96 LT1 Pcm works good
    but the scanning is very limited without a Snappy or Tech2

    on the other hand 94-95 PCM swap with OBD1 Datamaster will show you all the major players

    BTW SEMA 05'
    Steve Cole and his engineer form TTS had a demo on display of the Datamaster OBD2 for LT1s,
    I called several times after SEMA 05
    they said it was not ready
    Attached Files Attached Files
    NotoriouSS TAD
    J5 - 96' Impala SS - autocross / drag / multi purpose driver / 4L60E assasin
    Rosie - 67' El Co - autocross / drag / wifes multi purpose driver
    SAVE SO-CAL DRAG RACING!!

  7. #7
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sikeston, MO
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by Montecarlodrag View Post
    MAF Hz isn't supported, at least in a 97 Vortec Pickup I scanned yesterday

    I really really miss a good scanner for 96-97 LT1, MAF tunning would be a lot easier
    Just being able to scan MAF at all was a big help! Unfortunately, no histograms means it wasn't nearly as efficient, but I made it work! However, not fond of it and I don't think I'll be doing any more 96-97 unless someone REALLY wants it done ($$$).

  8. #8
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    sunny So Cal
    Posts
    211
    Sorry bout the lack histograms
    been doing them for so long....
    pop in the first cal and I'm 90% done.

    beside most the big dawgs get switched to 94-95 computers and use TTS Datamaster to log
    NotoriouSS TAD
    J5 - 96' Impala SS - autocross / drag / multi purpose driver / 4L60E assasin
    Rosie - 67' El Co - autocross / drag / wifes multi purpose driver
    SAVE SO-CAL DRAG RACING!!

  9. #9
    Tuner Ricardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    5000 ft ASL
    Posts
    69
    What about O2 sensor data?
    Do you knbow if the scanner displays it?
    Thanks
    Ricardo
    1996 A4 FBody with LS7 swap

  10. #10
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sikeston, MO
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by ProTools4 View Post
    Sorry bout the lack histograms
    been doing them for so long....
    pop in the first cal and I'm 90% done.

    beside most the big dawgs get switched to 94-95 computers and use TTS Datamaster to log
    How hard is that switch?

  11. #11
    Advanced Tuner Montecarlodrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Posts
    532
    Quote Originally Posted by GregRexAdams View Post
    How hard is that switch?
    It takes 5 min to do it.
    Swap the PCM for a 94-95 unit, disable a few codes, then tune it

    Plug and play, No wiring, no other mods needed.
    11 sec Montecarlo SS

  12. #12
    Advanced Tuner Montecarlodrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Posts
    532
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricardo View Post
    What about O2 sensor data?
    Do you knbow if the scanner displays it?
    Thanks
    Yes it does.
    But as Greg said, no histograms, mening you can't tune MAF or VE with copy-paste or paste special-multiply by %
    Any tunign you do using O2 data needs to be done 100% by hand
    No MAF Hz
    No AFR Error (because no AFR Commanded PID)
    No histograms

    That's why
    11 sec Montecarlo SS

  13. #13
    Tuner in Training brycerice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    31
    Could i do this on a 96 corvette?

  14. #14
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    webb city, mo
    Posts
    219
    what are you guys using to tune the 94-97 cars with? Tunercat? or something else?

  15. #15
    Senior Tuner Russ K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Regina, Sask.
    Posts
    3,895
    Yes, I use Tunercat for the 1996-1997 LT1/4 cars and scan with Hp Tuners.

    Russ Kemp

  16. #16
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    webb city, mo
    Posts
    219
    Here's a reply i got from Tunercat a while back when i asked if i could tune a '96 car for a buddy with their software....where are you guys buying your TC stuff from for 96-97 cars? i'm not looking to spend an arm and a leg to maybe tune 3 cars and put this stuff on the shelf.


    Thank you for your e-mail.

    No, our LT1 tuning kits do not support the 1996 - 97 OBDII LT1 cars, only the 1994 - 95 OBDI cars. The OBDII cars require a completely different setup. To tune the OBDII cars you'll need our OBDII Tuner program. The OBDII Tuner program comes complete with powerful tuning software, an OBDII interface converter and all the cables necessary to connect your PC to the vehicle. While we continue to do the development work on the OBDII Tuner program we don't sell this program directly. The OBDII Tuner program it is currently available from three sources.

    1. A low-cost version is available through JET Performance Products (www.jetchip.com) as the JET Dynamic Spectrum Tuner. This package comes complete with four licenses to tune four different vehicles. Additional licenses can then be purchased for additional vehicles.

    2. The real-time version of the OBDII Tuner program which allows you to do real-time tuning (while the engine is running) is available from Craig Moates (www.moates.net) when you purchase their Roadrunner emulator (which is needed for real-time tuning).

    3. A professional version of the OBDII Tuner program which allows you to tune an unlimited number of any of the vehicles currently supported by the OBDII Tuner program is available from Wester's Garage (http://westers_garage.eidnet.org)


    Best regards,

    TC

  17. #17
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by 2000_SS View Post
    Here's a reply i got from Tunercat a while back when i asked if i could tune a '96 car for a buddy with their software....where are you guys buying your TC stuff from for 96-97 cars? i'm not looking to spend an arm and a leg to maybe tune 3 cars and put this stuff on the shelf.
    tunercats sold out the rights to tunercats obd2 tuner to jet tuner, so those of us that had tunercats obd2 can and still get obd2 updates from tunercat but no new sales from them,, but i think you can still get it if you go through moates and buy there ls1 roadrunner kit, then you can get the obd2 cable from tunercats but it will cost more than what the rest of us paid years ago for tc obd2 tuner
    2010 camaro L99, Magnacharger TVS 2300, 415ci LS3,Kooks long tubes, yank ss3200, 3.73 rear

  18. #18
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    431
    Quote Originally Posted by Montecarlodrag View Post
    It takes 5 min to do it.
    Swap the PCM for a 94-95 unit, disable a few codes, then tune it

    Plug and play, No wiring, no other mods needed.
    not entirely true. On the Impala SS your tach will read double after an OBDI swap. You need to buy a multiplier box to get it to read correctly. Also, don't forget the knock sensors need to be swapped as well if you plan on retaining them.
    WWW.MAXXHPTUNING.COM

    2003 Corvette, Volant intake, Z06 catback, Zex 125 wet kit, ngk tr6. SOLD

    2000 GTP, 3.4 pulley, ported TB/ blower, SD Headers, 3" exhaust, autolite 104's, GMPP suspension, 12" brakes.

    1999 Trans am, 98 fast toys, slp ram air, gutted air box, 85 maf, LS6 intake, EPS custom cam, CNC 243's, headers, stock catback with flowmaster, Circle D 278mm, 3.73 gear

  19. #19
    Advanced Tuner Montecarlodrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Posts
    532
    Quote Originally Posted by GPGTP View Post
    not entirely true. On the Impala SS your tach will read double after an OBDI swap. You need to buy a multiplier box to get it to read correctly. Also, don't forget the knock sensors need to be swapped as well if you plan on retaining them.
    I have not swapped any Impala, but Fbodies work with stock knock sensors and no other changes than the PCM. I have done a few and the knock sensors, speedo and everything works good.
    11 sec Montecarlo SS

  20. #20
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    431
    Yea I had to find out the hardway. It's strange that it works with the f-bodies and not the impala, doesn't make sense to me since they use the same pcm