Thread: 8.1 tuners

Tuner in Training

8.1 tuners

Hello all,
    I am new to HP Tuners and am starting to work on the tune on my 05 Chevy 2500HD with 8100 and Allison.

I have spent the last month searching, researching, and reading and have noticed that there aren't alot of people tuning 8100 engines.

I want to generate 2 solid tunes, 1 solid tune for pulling and 1 econo tune for driving down the highway.

The first thing I want to do is remove the torque management. I found a few threads, but they all deal with 4L transmissions. The trans tab in my stock tune (and those in the repository) is blank. Is the torque management removal for the 8100/Allison the same as 5.3/4l65E?

I am working on saving cash for training videos to help, but would like to get started before then.
    Thank you all for your information you have provided to date.
    Corey McCarthy
    2005 2500 HD: 8100 and 4.10's Stock so far
    2000 Venture: Stock

Hey Corey! I am not very familiar with the 8100, but I have had some experience with the Allison. I can help you with some trans tuning, but we would need to take it slow. First and foremost, torque management is a vital part of keeping the trans alive in my opinion. Others have different opinions, and to each his own. There are plenty of ways to skin the same cat! However, we can quicken up shift times while keeping torque management active, personally, the best of both worlds.

Now, for the 8100. The 8100 is still a gas engine, so if you really want to get going on the tuning world, buy a wideband O2 sensor and some reading material. Greg Banish has an excellent book out on the market, search Calibrated success. Read, re-read, and then re-read again before you begin changing values.

Also, gasoline tuning should yield both power and economy, so 1 GOOD tune is all that is needed. If you want a small boost in power for now, send me an email **[email protected]** with your stock tune, and we will talk about what we can do for now.