Thread: Never tuned a car before.

Tuner in Training

Never tuned a car before.

So in a couple days I'm gonna get this HP Tuner Suite kit for my 98 C5 w/cam. I've never used this before and have only used my DynoJet Power Commander on my 2009VMax after doing lots of motorwork.

Now I'm gonna have to figure out what to do to my Vette so it can idle and not be getting such horrible gas mileage.

I'll be asking LOT'S of questions and doing lot's of searching to get some answers. Hopefully I can avoid messing up the engine.

Wish me luck and if you have any suggestions.....I'm all ears.

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

A wise man once said "google it"

Tuner in Training
    Thanks Bill! I'm reading up this weekend....once again Thank you!

Rickey

Check out the free guide in my sig, it will help with the basics.
    Free HP Tuners Beginners Tuning Guide

LS1 Tuning Guide
    Michigan Snowmobiler

1969 Firebird: 11.67@114 [email protected] 1/8 1.70 60 ft. EPS cam 234/246 .602.606 114+3, 6.0 LQ4, L92 heads milled 10.5:1, Ported L76 intake, ported 90mm Holley TB, 100mm MAF, FIC Custom injectors, Hooker LT, PYPES dual exhaust with an X pipe, 4L65e with all of the good parts inside, FTI 4000 RPM Stall, 12 bolt with 3.73 gears. HP Tuner tuned by me

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by 69lt1bird View Post
    Thanks! Good reading. I have a lot to learn. It's looking like I need to go slow.

Tuner in Training
    Finally got the program loaded on my lap top and the drivers installed for the MPV* whatever it's called and then the car wouldn't cooperate and I got a VCM "Failed" message. Going to do a search on this forum for the remedy....

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)