Thread: Running very rich on cold start

Tuner in Training

Running very rich on cold start

Hey guys. I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT with a SS M90 supercharger kit. I live up in Canada, and it's freezing cold right now. Whenever I first start my car in the morning, my AFR goes extremely rich (I forget the exact number, but somewhere between 10.5-11.5). I can smell gas as well. I am still new to tuning, so I am not exactly sure what tables to modify to solve this. What should AFR be for a cold start?

Here is a copy of my tune.

Do you have a cat? A majority of that extra fuel is to help warm the cat. You'll notice your timing is really low too when you first start it (unless its colder than 0*C or something like that). This is so that the extra fuel burns in the cat, helping it heat up.

Ideally, and the way I have my car tuned, is you would tune the warmup AFR correction and decay tables in such a way that the AFR hovers around 14.7:1.

Fuel doesn't condense the same when it's hitting cold surfaces. Therefore, less fuel is actually making it into the cylinders when the engine is cold (for a few seconds, not nearly as long as they make it from the factory), which is why you need to squirt a little extra than stoich (besides the cat of course). It needs more fuel as it gets colder.

Personally, I would ignore the cat and make warmup leaner and disable warmup spark correction. Best I could find on the net said that it only made it warm up 5 seconds faster. So you're putting out pollution for 5 extra seconds...

My car warms from 20*F to 180* (operating temp) in just about 3 miles which is pretty crazy I think. So it saves gas mileage too.

Tuner in Training
    I don't have a cat. I have headers. So which tables would you recommend changing? Thanks man!