Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: High IAT= lean AFR

Tuner in Training

High IAT= lean AFR

Got a problem that I don't know where to look. '00 SS, stock OS, heads,cam screened truck MAF with integrated IAT sensor. After sitting still, engine off, for a few min, upon restart the IAT reads from 120s to 140s. I understand this heatsoak, but the issue is after approx 5sec or so, the AFR goes lean to the degree of 18-20/1. I realize the computer is prolly figuring on less air coming in due to the high temp an fueling accordingly but there has to be a table to compensate for this. BTW, the MAF is disabled during this time due to VE calibrating. Will the MAF correct this when it's enabled, and if so, how do the SD guys get around this? May be a simple fix, but I'm still learning. Thanks for any help.

It's much more tolerant of the heat soak with the MAF enabled. Big cam car SD cars hate life when they get lean from IAT heat soak. For the cars that stay SD and are sensitive to it, I often relocate the IAT to the bumper where it sees outside air temp but does not get hot from the heat of the engine bay.
    Steve Williams
    TunedbyFrost.com

part of the problem lies within the poor formula that GM has put in the PCM to compensate for IAT/ECT.
    theres a complex cylinder charge table...that takes care of that issue, but it doesnt work in the 98-00 years...
    if youcan spare the credits... consider upgrading to an 01 or 02 OS and you can use that table to help curb that issue...
    its not perfect from the factory.. but its a better start than a non working table in the past years. and you can adjust it a little at a time untill you see much less swings from IAT.
    -Scott -

Senior Tuner
    I've been much happier since relocating the IAT to
    outside the engine bay. If you do that then error
    moves to the low end and rich, rather than big end
    and lean, and if you're closed loop the rich error will
    easily be driven out by trimming.

Tuner in Training