Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Allison TCM stand alone tuning

  1. #1
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Allison TCM stand alone tuning

    OK, I know this is a bit outside of mainstream HP tuners usage, but I have a swap in progress. I am using an Allison 1000 trans and 8.1L TCM behind a mechanical 5.9 Cummins.

    So, the big question is this: Can HP Tuners communicate with and reprogram an Allison TCM without a DMax or 8.1 PCM being present?

  2. #2
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    22,632
    No it will not, our software ONLY licenses the pcm(the tcm is free and doesn't use a license spot so technically you could swap in new tcm after new tcm without having to use more licenses/credits) because of this we do not allow tcm only tuning.

  3. #3
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    OK, followup question. Does the PCM need to do anything other than simply be present? Does it need to have sensors in place? Does it need to be connected to the TCM via the CAN bus? If all it needs is for a PCM to be present, powered, and connected to the ALDL that wouldn't really be a problem

  4. #4
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    271
    just wire in a pcm, powers, grounds and the data line,, thats all you should need ,, just so hpt can read the ecm,, then it will read the tcm
    2010 camaro L99, Magnacharger TVS 2300, 415ci LS3,Kooks long tubes, yank ss3200, 3.73 rear

  5. #5
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by camaro1 View Post
    just wire in a pcm, powers, grounds and the data line,, thats all you should need ,, just so hpt can read the ecm,, then it will read the tcm
    ^^^ Bill, can you verify this? Also, does it have to be a Dmax PCM of the same year as the TCM or will any PCM work?

    Also, do you have a complete list of the Allison TCM parameters that HP Tuners has control over?

    I am trying to make a choice between HP Tuners and EFILive. So far, I know EFI will do exactly what I need and doesn't seem to require a PCM, but HP Tuners is less expensive and has better support for gas vehicles.

    Anyway, any info would be appreciated

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5
    I am also interested in this. I use HPTuners at my shop to tune customer cars and own a motorhome with (probably) the same swap harness (destroked). I REALLY don't want to buy EFI Live and have paid plenty of software license fees to HP Tuners. There must be a way to open this up.

  7. #7
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    22,632
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxPF View Post
    ^^^ Bill, can you verify this? Also, does it have to be a Dmax PCM of the same year as the TCM or will any PCM work?

    Also, do you have a complete list of the Allison TCM parameters that HP Tuners has control over?

    I am trying to make a choice between HP Tuners and EFILive. So far, I know EFI will do exactly what I need and doesn't seem to require a PCM, but HP Tuners is less expensive and has better support for gas vehicles.

    Anyway, any info would be appreciated

    Thanks!
    Yes as long as there is a pcm & tcm, power to the obd2 port, etc and there are no wiring issues it should read fine, we do all of our reading/writing on bench harnesses when testing so its just a matter of getting the wiring correct.

    In the 2008 Os that I had up conveniently it has

    62 tables
    26 constants

    Its pretty much everything you'll need from shift points, TCC lockup, gear ratios, trans tq management ect. I don't have a list although our help file does

    www.hptuners.com/help as we list every table from every application in there.