Thread: Ford Bench Programming?'s

Tuner

Ford Bench Programming?'s

Is it possible to bench program or flash, and are there programming bench harness's available for F150-trucks & Mustang's EEC's? Kinda like what's available for GM pcm, ecm, tcm...

I'm a Ford newbie and I was just curious...

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    From my understanding ford bench setups are a bit different from gm as the obd2 port needs an 18v signal or something weird like that so I'm not sure how common they are in the ford world. I could only assume this is a big part of the reason All the ford tuners previously available were hand held devices that could be sent to the customer for mail order tuning.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

A wise man once said "google it"

You can flash them on a bench. I have done it many times. I bought a PCM connector and used a PC powersupply.
    Eric Brooks
    HP Tuners, LLC

Tuner
    Thanks for the info.....

Quote Originally Posted by Bill@HPTuners View Post
    From my understanding ford bench setups are a bit different from gm as the obd2 port needs an 18v signal or something weird like that so I'm not sure how common they are in the ford world. I could only assume this is a big part of the reason All the ford tuners previously available were hand held devices that could be sent to the customer for mail order tuning.
    Yes...FEPS signal. You need CANHi, CANLo and a programming signal pin. What I don't like about Ford is that they moved the pins around in the CAN ECA's between years and between models. 2003, 2004 and 2005 have different pinouts, identifying which connector is which is also a challenge...sometimes the 1st connector is used, others use the 2nd (middle connector). I hate doing them.
    Prior ECA's are a lot easier to do on the bench...the pins seem to be all the same on all 104 pin units between gas and diesel.
    2009 Cadillac CTS-V 196.7 MPH on the Salt