Thread: GM 8.1L Allison Combo

GM 8.1L Allison Combo

Hi Guys,

I have an 05 2500HD with the 8.1L allison combo. The truck is all stock, and I want to optimize the engine and trans tunes for performance (without sacrificing longevity). Would any of you be willing to share a tune file with me so I can see what changes you typcially make to a stock vehicle? I have HPT and I have tuned my 98 WS6 Trans Am (LS1), but I have no experience with the L18, drive-by-wire, Allison, etc...
    Also feel free to post suggestions, experiences, etc
    THANK YOU in advance for any and all help you provide me.

John

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    I don't believe our software can tune the transmission module on these vehicles. You should be able to read the pcm without much issue though.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

A wise man once said "google it"

Bill I also noticed that the VCM controls in the scanner do not seem to work. I can do all of the basic scanning, but I am not able to use any of the VCM controls. Am I doing something wrong, or do I need to change something to get this to work on the 8.1?

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Engine VCM controls should work as long as we've already mapped your operating system, not sure about transmission vcm controls on that vehicle in all honesty.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

A wise man once said "google it"

Bill,
    The engine VCM controls are all greyed out and not useable. The trans controls are also greyed out and appear to be for a 4-speed. The scanning functions all work great, however.

I've got VCM suite version 2.1.x, so I'm going to upgrade it tonight and see if that cures the prob with the engine controls.

Thanks for replies; I will post back here with updates as I make progress. I sure hope others chime in with suggestions for this beast. I am not impressed at all with the stock tune, shifting, etc....