Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: 09 G8, read VCM and now no stability

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    28

    09 G8, read VCM and now no stability

    Just read the VCM in my new 09 G8 GT, and now the stability is stuck on off. Also, there was a SES light for loss of communication with the TCM. Cleared that. Anybody else see this? Nothing was written.

  2. #2
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Mobile, AL & Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    2,046
    Curious, which version are you using? The latest is 2.22.3152.18236 (at least as of this past Monday).

    Also, have you been able to get your stability control back? If not, might I suggest removing the negative battery terminal for a few minutes, and then seeing if that works.
    RWTD
    True Custom Tuning & Performance Parts Specialists!
    Custom Tuning: dynotune@rwtd.com

    Toys: '08 C6 LS3 / '03 SVT Cobra / '08 Harley Davidson Nightrod Special / '11 Chevy Duramax

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    28
    It is the latest version. Just updated it today. Going to try the battery trick later. Just thought it was odd. I've been tuning since the LS1 Edit days, and as the vehicles get newer, they just seem to get more and more quirky.
    '08 TBSS - ProCharged | '09 G8 GT

  4. #4
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Clermont, FL
    Posts
    22,588
    Pull the TCM fuse to reset it, I've seen this happen on a few G8's & some trucks.

  5. #5
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6
    Happened to me. Went back to normal after about an hour.

  6. #6
    Advanced Tuner Pro Street's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Booker TX
    Posts
    223
    Mine did it to. Drove it a couple of blocks and then restarted and it was back to normal.
    2002 vette coupe A4 3.42 gear-mods=Vortex ram air intake-TSP LT headers,x pipe and Borla Stingers-TSP 224R cam (224/224 581/581 114LSA) 25% underdrive pulley-BlackMaxx tunnel plate
    2004 GMC VHO (LQ9 345 HP) Stock
    2010 Camaro 2SS/RS A6 L99
    1987 Buick GrandNational
    1983 Pro Street S10 355 Blown small block
    1996 Impala SS LT1 CAI

  7. #7
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Oldsmar, FL
    Posts
    423
    Mine just did it too. Scared the cr*p out of me. Came in here and was very relieved to find this thread. I drove around the block and started and stopped it a few times but I only gave it a few minutes. I will try again in an hour. It also would not let me shift into sport mode and the gear display in the DIC constantly said P (for Park) no matter what gear I was in. Hope that clears with the rest of it.

    Any idea why this is happening? Will it take a write calibration OK?


    Also, something else strange. The Speed on the Guage display in the scanner went right to 158 MPH (while I sat in my garage) and stayed there. I didn't play with it anymore after the other problem. Any ideas why that would happen?
    2008 G8 GT
    6.0L A6
    Stock

    2004 Chevy Blazer
    4.3L A4
    Stock

  8. #8
    Tuner carneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    101
    Loss of ESP also happens in the VE Commodore which the G8 is based on. I think some of the modules lose communication with each other during a read/write and then set errors. They reset themselves after a short time.

    One way around it is to do all your reads/writes with the key in the accessories position instead of the run position. The ECM & TCM will still communicate with your laptop but it doesn't generate any errors on the dash.
    VE Calais V 6.0L L98 V8 6L80E

  9. #9
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Oldsmar, FL
    Posts
    423
    Great, I will give it a try.

    I went back out and it was fine. Thanks for the input.

    Finally, on a side note, check this out.

    http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...321#post141321
    2008 G8 GT
    6.0L A6
    Stock

    2004 Chevy Blazer
    4.3L A4
    Stock

  10. #10
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    13
    Mine did it as soon as I connected to the VCM. It killed traction control and gave me ABS and some other warning. I let it do its thing (was downloading the stock tune).

    After it finished, it "recycled" the vcm and the errors went away except for the "check engine!" light and the "traction control" error. I turned the car electrical off, then back on. Once it was done yelling at me about the errors, I checked the DTC's and it showed that there was a temporary break in connection on the TCM to the PCM/BCM/VCM/whateverCM. Once I cleared the errors, everything went back to normal.

  11. #11
    Ya, just do a case relearn, and you're good to go.

    Since it looks like me and you are the only g8 owners here...wanna swap files??

  12. #12
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    25
    This also happens with a 2010 Camaro SS auto in case anybody else comes in with the same problem. I also had a bizzaro Service Airbag notification pop-up. Doing a battery pull clears the problem though. All good now.

  13. #13
    HP Tuners Owner Chris@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    5,248
    all modules on the communciations bus lose communications to the ECM when you read/write it. Some recover gracefully, some not so...
    I count sheep in hex...