Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tuning a 6.2 With VVT

Senior Tuner

Tuning a 6.2 With VVT

Has anyone tuned a 6.2 with Variable Valve Timing? If so, what challenges does the VVT present?

Quote Originally Posted by 2xLS1 View Post
    Has anyone tuned a 6.2 with Variable Valve Timing? If so, what challenges does the VVT present?
    Also would like info on this..

So far on my L76 engine, I've had to fight with the variable cam spark table. The truck had a Diablo tune in it but over 4,000 rpm it would ping so much it could be easily heard. I'm still learning myself and still fighting to make everything ideally perfect, but so far just taking a lot of the timing out of the variable cam spark table and adding more in the high octane table has worked pretty well.

Tuner
    Has anyone made sense of the numbers presented in the VVT tables? The numbers appear to be too big for intake centerline degrees.

Senior Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Ramjet View Post
    Has anyone made sense of the numbers presented in the VVT tables? The numbers appear to be too big for intake centerline degrees.
    Should be degrees of advance from the intake centerline.
    Jaime

Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by ElecTech View Post
    Should be degrees of advance from the intake centerline.
    It may be degrees but I don't think it is referenced to the intake lobe centerline.
    The reasoning behind my opinion is:
    Normally, a cam can be made more aggressive or higher torque by advancing the timing around +4 degrees.
    Peak torque usually happens when the lobe is installed at the lobe separation angle (LSA or 0 degrees).
    Highest HP can be prolonged on the RPM curve by retarding the cam around -4 degrees.