Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone Else Getting Frustrated With Newbs?

Anyone Else Getting Frustrated With Newbs?

Not that I am a pro tuner, work for HPT or even a moderator but I spend a good bit of time on the forums helping out where I can. I've noticed an increasing number of people popping up on the board lately who have clearly not done any due diligence, not read any stickies, haven't searched for information, or (what's really un-nerving) haven't tried ANYTHING and are looking for someone to spoon feed them a "mail order tune".

I guess I shouldn't let it bug me but we have maintained a very high level of help for people, the great support from the forums are even kind of a selling point for the software IMO. It just seems to be slipping because there are more and more posts that are of little value to no one.

<RANT OFF>
    Bill Winters

Former owner/builder/tuner of the FarmVette
    Out of the LSx tuning game

Senior Tuner
    To anyone that may be a little un-nerved by Bill's post, I'll be the first to say that he has been a great help to MANY Corvette tuners, and had helped me with some stuff that was way over my head!(Which belive me isn't very hard) But yes, we all should probably search a little more before we post.

Senior Tuner
    I think that it has a lot to do with HP's increase in market share, as well as, its ease of use. You start stepping out of the shops and hardcore hobbyists, and into the hands of the average Joe without any, or little, prior car knowledge. What the "Joe" fails to realize is that those on the forums and elsewhere that make it seem so easy have spent hundreds to thousands of hours reading, learning, testing, and tearing stuff up to get to that point.

It's kind of the sign of our time, really. People have fallen into the habit of instant gratification and lose the stomach to get there hands dirty and put in the time and hard work it takes to achieve a goal.