Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Launch Retard

Tuner in Training

Launch Retard

Guys,

I'm relatively new to the tuning world but I'm starting to get my feet wet on my 07 C6 A6.

I did some logs last night at the drag strip and see a dip in the timing advance at launch. I'm assuming this has something to do with TM. Has anyone had any luck getting rid of this dip at takeoff? Can I command a higher advance in the corresponding cells?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Tuner in Training
    Here is my .HPT file and .HPL log file.

Senior Tuner
    I tried adding advance in the applicable cells at launch but still timing was pulled back to negative or very low. Don't know of any way to eliminate launch TM.

I would change your 192* fan setting to 20% or your fan is going to run full time at 50%.

Have you tried to log all the advance/retard PIDs to see which ones are affecting your total timing on launch?

If I read things correctly, your burst KR table may be pulling up to 12*, not sure where the other 8* was pulled (HO table seems to be calling for 20* at the rpm/dyn cyl air you launched at).

2005 Grand Prix GXP - 5.3 LS4 - HP Tuned, MF catback, 1.8 rockers, K&N, Some day I'll finish putting the LS6 intake on

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by 8850
    I tried adding advance in the applicable cells at launch but still timing was pulled back to negative or very low. Don't know of any way to eliminate launch TM.

I would change your 192* fan setting to 20% or your fan is going to run full time at 50%.
    8850 - Thanks for the response. I've followed some of your threads and see you have been trying to figure out how to get rid of it.

I will make the change to the fan setting. Did you see anything else in my tune that I can possibly change to get some more power?

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by TiredGXP
    Have you tried to log all the advance/retard PIDs to see which ones are affecting your total timing on launch?