Thread: Correct Tuning Procedures

Potential Tuner

Correct Tuning Procedures

Hi, I'm only a newbie, and there are so many parameters to change but in what order????

I recently came across the following tuning procedure which looks pretty good (based on some of the info on this forum), so i just wanted to get some opinions before i used. it It came from: http://ls1edit.slowcar.net/

I also found an awesome log file analyser, so much better than excel, get it at: http://www.slowcar.net/analyzer/

Tuning Guide
    This document will attempt to layout a step by step process to guide you in the tuning of your ls1 powered vehicle

Requirements
    In order to properly tune your car there are a few items that you need to have available
    LS1 Edit Software + Cable
    Laptop computer (pentium 133 or greater - p233+ suggested)
    Logging software - EASE, EFILive, Autotap, etc.

Outline
    There are many different ways one can tune a car, but below I have outlined a methodical process which should work well
    1: Set absolute parameters
    2: Start car, verify
    3: Tune idle
    4: Tune part throttle
    5: Tune WOT

1: Absolute parameters
    Okay, at this point you have connected your laptop to your car, downloaded your base program with LS1 Edit (you *always* should start with your program), and are ready to start. The number one thing to remember when editing your pcm is to make only one or a few small changes at a time.

First we are going to start with what I call "absolute" parameters. This are values that can be known and set with total objectivity. These generally include gear ratio, fan turn on temps, rev limiter, etc. You should also choose a desired idle rpm and enter it initially. The main idea here is to keep the program as stock as possible - we only want to change values that have a concrete value - leave shift points, fuel, spark, and other subjective (from our point of view) values alone.