Thread: new to HPT

Tuner in Training

new to HPT

I've been using DHP for nearly two years now and for obvious reasons, I now have HPT.

From what a friend of mine who tunes LS1's with HPT, the smoothness of the table is very important and I'm assuming because of the smoothing tools in the histograms, its important.

I'll use the VE table as an example - with DHP, I'd scan my trims etc..and use Eddies table modifier program, it would find the target cells that were causing the + or - condition in the trims and adjust accordingly. This would lead to a "bumpy" tables, but would result in good trims up to I went into PE at 40% throttle. From the help in HPT, a rough VE table is "bad."

Is this acceptable or optimal how it is done in HPT? I've still got to go read and learn how to import the scans and figure out how to make changes accordingly in HPT but I am just curious.
    -2004 Mustang Cobra
    -2004 M6 GTO (Wife's)
    -1996 3100 Lumina w/97 PCM (beater)

Advanced Tuner
    Good trims over "good looking tables" for me any day of the week.

Only exception would be the MAF table. You always want smooth transitions without any major peaks or dips. However, I am not keen on how the HPT smooths tables, I would still prefer to do those little things manually and retain control over the results rather than let the program decide for me. Its still a nice option, and likely something that the V8 guys can take advantage of.
    Last edited by JerryH; 01-23-2008 at 07:53 AM.
    '99 Black GTP Sedan
    3.4-2.6" PB Quick Change pulleys, Custom CAI, XP Cam, N* TB, LQ4 MAF, SLP headers, 42.5# Injectors, 180/195* thermostat.

13.501 @ 103.392 on 91 (2.4 60-foot).
    13.82 @ 105.28 on 87 octane! (2.42 60-foot).
    263kph top end as shown on the GPS.
    All this and 39MPG to boot. What more can a man ask for?
    * Just another enthusiastic amateur tuner! *