Thread: tuning part throttle with a damn wideband

Tuner in Training

tuning part throttle with a damn wideband

hey guys, ive been tuning for a few years (mine and customers in sd) using the stfts for everything bar WOT. WOT was checked with a my wego wideband and adjusted if necessary via the VE table, but it was usually spot on commanded after a stft tune. ltfts i turn off. ive had an enhanced io for a while and i thought, shit, i better get with the times and use this interface for a wideband. had nothing but trouble since. i bought an lm1 because the display was flaking out on the wego occasionally and reading .1 and i couldnt get the wego to work with hpt properly (got it working now though), did a tune on my own ute which is cammed and turbod. got it spot on in open loop with the lm1. turned the st trims back on and its pulling like -8 to -12 everywhere.

after reading all that, i guess what im trying to say is, is there really anything wrong with tuning the part throttle with the narrow band 02s? and are lm1s shit?

btw i have swapped in a new set of NB 02s and checked the wot afrs with a dyno wideband and thet are ok. the dyno wideband shows 13.5-6 at part throttle.

Keep in mind that the evap purge valve stays closed in open loop. In closed loop when the purge valve opens,
    the fuel trims will go negative to compensate for the extra fuel vapours.

Russ Kemp

So what I'm hearing is that you tuned OL with the WB spot on, enabled closed loop and trims went negative. You replaced the narrow bands and no change, big negative FT's. You dynoed with another WB and the WOT's are the same as you dialed in with your WB but the dyno WB shows CL part throttle rich at ~13.5:1. Was that with the fuel trims enabled?
    Bill Winters

Former owner/builder/tuner of the FarmVette
    Out of the LSx tuning game

Tuner in Training
    the trims were disabled on the dyno run. wot afrs seem good, part throttles are way rich, but the lm1 shows 14.7.

True or False: