Thread: Can we modify stock ECT scaling on Injection Timing, or why not?

Can we modify stock ECT scaling on Injection Timing, or why not?

Perhaps another newbie question, but can anyone tell me why it is suggested to leave this table alone (especially in the lower temps)?

*using Cringer / Silversurfer77 as reference. I have not found threads that explain it.

I am no expert... but just as a generalist the factory tables seem extreme to me.
    Can any temp difference effect flow rates as much as 125 crank degrees?

I am also in Ohio.. and subject to bipolar weather.. but even with a fairly mild winter I'm seeing up to 100deg timing difference on warmup.

I can't point to specific data, but the engine just feels/sounds bad until it is near normal operating temp.

This could absolutely mean that I have the timing set wrong at normal temp... but I really think it is close.

Dunno... discuss. =P
    Last edited by TragicMike; 02-11-2024 at 09:27 PM.

Senior Tuner
    when the engine is dead cold the factory has injection alot earlier so fuel can sit on the valve longer to help heat it up before entering the chamber, u can play with ect normal it if u want if it makes startup better if ur loosing too much out the exhaust when it opens the intake valve

Tuning Addict
    I find it depends on the cam. More aggressive needs to be set closer to operating temp especially if a blower's involved. You can use colder engine temp trims or engine response to set it up. For those something like this -

ECT Inj.jpg
    2010 Vette Stock Bottom LS3 - LS2 APS Twin Turbo Kit, Trick Flow Heads and Custom Cam - 12psi - 714rwhp and 820rwtq / 100hp Nitrous Shot starting at 3000 rpms - 948rwhp and 1044rwtq still on 93
    2011 Vette Cam Only Internal Mod in stock LS3 -- YSI @ 18psi - 811rwhp on 93 / 926rwhp on E60 & 1008rwhp with a 50 shot of nitrous all through a 6L80

~Greg Huggins~
    Remote Tuning Available at gh[email protected]
    Mobile Tuning Available for North Georgia and WNC