Thread: Basic Question - PE Effect / Relationship with VE Table

Tuner in Training

Basic Question - PE Effect / Relationship with VE Table

Please consider me a novice, so be nice.

I am attempting to use an AEM feed into the scanner to determine AFR / Lambda ratio errors. Going to then adjust the VE tables to as close to 1.0 Lambda as possible. I have studied and understand the basic need for power enrichment tables but am having trouble understanding how this should be used in relation with the VE table. If I use the AEM and obtain 1.0 Lambda for all cells, doesn't this negate the impact of the PE table? If so, how do you tune the VE to ensure an actual ~0.85 ratio for areas of the table that need additional chamber cooling? Should or can PE be turned off like MAF to dial in VE (I really don't like this idea). May be overthinking this, but very confused as to the interaction of PE and VE on needed AFR.

If I am not making sense, please let me know. Definitely a noob here.

Andy

Senior Tuner
    You don't tune against 1.0 lambda.. You should be tuning against the commanded eq or lambda. That number will change with PE.

depending on the setup the narrow bands would be more accurate to use after you get it pretty close with the wideband. I'm talking about part throttle/idle etc.
    Tuner at PCMofnc.com
    Email tuning!!!, Mail order, Dyno tuning, Performance Parts, Electric Fan Kits, 4l80e swap harnesses, 6l80 -> 4l80e conversion harnesses, Installs

Tuner in Training