Thread: Newbie help.

Potential Tuner

Newbie help.

Good morning,
    I'm brand new to tuning and have been using a combination of YouTube videos from Chopper Doc and Goat Rope Garage to muddle my way through. I'm currently VE tuning my LS-swapped Jeep. The engine was originally a 5.3 from an Isuzu Ascender but I have recently swapped it to an LS1 block and heads. Everything related to the ignition and fuel system came from the 5.3. ECU, Injectors, sensors, intake etc. The engine has a BTR stage II truck cam. The original tune on the Jeep was done by a local guy. After learning from this forum, Chopper Doc and GRG I realized some of the things he did were somewhat questionable. I have attached the as found tune which is what I started with. I also attached my last tune and scanner log. The last tune is the current tune. I have not run it with the scanner yet.

My questions are;

Have I completely disabled my LTFTs? Looking at the scanner the STFTs are reading nothing. The LTFTs are still populating data.

Why are my o2 sensors reading so different? Possible exhaust leak?

Am I on the right track? I have been working my way slowly up the table doing small sections of the VE table at a time. My main goal with tuning this is for drivability and not necessarily max power. Thank you for your help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Senior Tuner
    In order to go SD, set Engine Diag>Airflow>MAF Frequency Fail High to 0Hz and ...DTC>P0103 to MIL on First Error to correctly fail the MAF.

During SD or MAF tuning, should have Engine>Fuel>Cutoff,DFCO>DFCO>Enable ECT set to 248. Fuel>Power Enrich>Min MAP to 85kPa.

Investigate Engine>Airflow>General>EGR Airflow.

Clear LTFT's through VCM Scanner>Vehicle Controls & Special Functions.

Advanced Tuner