Thread: Need Help with Idle on LS3 with 6L80E (Aggressive Cam)

Potential Tuner

Need Help with Idle on LS3 with 6L80E (Aggressive Cam)

I have a 1968 Corvette, LS3 with automatic transmission 6L80E. We just fired up the engine for the first time in 10 years as a project. The car has an aggressive cam but we lost all paperwork on what kind of Cam it is. We bumped up the idle to 850-900 RPM and increased the airflow a bit. The car idles more or less OK. It does well at High RPM, however, after you let the gas pedal go, the RPM drops to 400-500 and the engine stalls.

I am new to tuning LS motors. So, any guidance is appreciated. I enclosed the logs and the tune. Please advise.

stok 12_08_Mod1.hptRun Log 12_09_2023.hpl

Quote Originally Posted by spektr44 View Post
    I have a 1968 Corvette, LS3 with automatic transmission 6L80E. We just fired up the engine for the first time in 10 years as a project. The car has an aggressive cam but we lost all paperwork on what kind of Cam it is. We bumped up the idle to 850-900 RPM and increased the airflow a bit. The car idles more or less OK. It does well at High RPM, however, after you let the gas pedal go, the RPM drops to 400-500 and the engine stalls.

I am new to tuning LS motors. So, any guidance is appreciated. I enclosed the logs and the tune. Please advise.

stok 12_08_Mod1.hptRun Log 12_09_2023.hpl

The log file is very sparse. You need to add quite few more PIDs IMHO to properly tune idle. I made an instructional idle video, and the the video description has a link to the scanner config. https://youtu.be/TVsFcMHySAc