Thread: V6 - E67 PCM question

V6 - E67 PCM question

Since the V6 section doesn't have an E67 pcm section and there's really no support or experience in there anyways, I thought i'd pose my question here.

I'm tuning an 07 G6 GTP which is using a form of the Cadillac 3.6 L VVT motor.

I don't understand the spark retard settings for this vehicle.

From what I can see, RPM spark cutoff is set at 6600 rpm but stock, the car shifts over 6800 rpm.
    Also, another thing which I don't really understand is the maximum KR table vs rpm vs map is brutal.
    Max KR from 3500 rpm to 5000 rpm is 3 and 2 for 5500 rpm, then it goes to 1 for 6000 rpm to the end of the table at WOT.
    I have a 2-3 degrees of KR right now which could really be 10 degrees for all I know at certain rpms.

Now my question is... Should I make it more aggressive or is it set there because of the VVT or is it because GM thinks the motor is indestructable and it'll be okay...

What are your opinions?

I'd upload a bin, but it's 3mb.

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    From what I can see, RPM spark cutoff is set at 6600 rpm but stock, the car shifts over 6800 rpm.
    Im not sure where your seeing that...could you post a screenshot? I have your file but I don't see the 6600 rpm limiter your talking about. Looks like your cutoff is at 6950 from what i can see.

Also, another thing which I don't really understand is the maximum KR table vs rpm vs map is brutal.
    Max KR from 3500 rpm to 5000 rpm is 3 and 2 for 5500 rpm, then it goes to 1 for 6000 rpm to the end of the table at WOT.
    I have a 2-3 degrees of KR right now which could really be 10 degrees for all I know at certain rpms.
    talk to gm

Im pretty sure there are some calibrations that just have 4 all the way across the board & like your saying they could be getting 10...its just how they set it up

http://www.thetuningdoctor.com/HPTuners/Tunes/2007 G6 GTP 3.6L Stock.bin
    Last edited by Bill@HPTuners; 03-03-2007 at 10:04 PM.