Thread: Problems bracket racing LS2.

Tuner in Training

Problems bracket racing LS2.

I'm a newbie here with a '06 tbss and I'm having trouble with consistency while drag racing. My mods are as follows: Mail-order tune, LS7 throttle body, efans, Maf moved inside air box. I have HP tuners but I haven't done anything with it except for a case relearn. My problem is this: When I go to WOT at the starting line I get a delay in throttle response (but not every time). It doesn't seem to matter if I leave from idle or torqued to 1,000 or 1,500 rpm. My ET's are very inconsistent. I was told to convert to speed density and unplug the Maf. Will that work? Will it hurt to zero out the IAT? Help please and thanks in advance. Sorry for the long post.
    If you're gonna do it, do it right.

DO NOT unplug your MAF to go SD. The IAT is integrated into it. Do you run with stabilitrak on or off? I would run with it off. Log some data while making runs and compare the data. You will be amazed at differences between runs. Don't change anything until you can confirm that the runs are giving you the same data unless of course the engine is knocking it's brains out...
    Always Support Our Troops!

Tuner in Training
    I do run with the traction control and stabilitrac turned off. I was thinking more like relocating the IAT sensor away from the maf. How would that fit in?

Advanced Tuner
    If you think IATs are your issue, check out the Vector Motorsports IAT relocation kit. It's a new IAT sensor that reacts more quickly than the stock one. Since it's separate from the MAF, you won't have to worry about the "heat soak" of the MAF housing radiating to the sensor. I haven't bought one yet but I plan to do it this spring.