Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: general setup questions but not anything i see reference to

Tuner in Training

general setup questions but not anything i see reference to

hopefully these are not stupid first i am a 30 year mechanic ( in a shop everyday since i was 16, 47 now) i am working on a 99 chevy 6.0 ls that was an iron head until a week ago) did rings, bearings, heads and small torquer cam 511 lift 202/202 dur and 111+1. also when i did this i stuck a 0411 ecm from a 2001 Silverado in it. when comparing files from 99 to the 01 it shows firing order in different places (same order but different locations) does this matter it seems to runs albeit adding 5-6 in stft at an idle when maf unplugged and pulls fuel when maf is connected. but before i make any corrections the injector setup is quite different also like minimum injector pulse width in 01 0.760 across the range but 99 was 1.505 till 2000 rpm but then tapering down to 0.684 after that. the default injector is setup in the same manor. has anyone seen this? is this because there is some difference in the injector? and should i put those values in the 01 ecm. just don't want to adjust anything if the base calculations are wrong and make things harder or have to start over. anyway hope these aren't stupid questions and someone knows the answer. thanks for any help

I didn't look it up but if the injector part number is different from 1999 to 2001, I could see that being a reason for the minor differences.

The firing order stuff doesn't matter, just leave that be. Also remember that the MAF has the IAT sensor in it, so what it does for the fueling can't really be trusted because the IAT goes to -40 with the MAF unplugged.

A camshaft is going to change the fueling around idle no matter what. You'll have to do minor adjustments to the base running airflow and alter the fueling in the MAF/VE table around idle to clean it up.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.