Thread: Noob Needing Help - First Start Achieved... Now what?

Potential Tuner

Noob Needing Help - First Start Achieved... Now what?

Hello All,

I'm very new to tuning and was able to configure the basics to get the engine to start/run successfully. Now I'm feeling a little overwhelmed as to what to do next. The truck starts and runs smooth.

Looking for some direction advice. Config/scanner files attached.

Mostly stock 2001 DBC engine swap into a 65 C10 with 4l60E

BTR Truck Norris CAM (NOT NSR)
    BTR Beehive Springs to match cam
    Holley Sniper 3 bolt throttle body (85mm)
    Patriot LS cast exhaust manifolds.
    EGR delete plugs
    Converted the fuel rail to returnless. (Removed regulator on rail and replaced with fuel gauge and plugged return line - (using corvette regulator/filter)

Otherwise all stock....

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Seannr; 04-07-2023 at 06:08 PM.

Here's your file, with injector data taken from a 2006 Express 2500 4.8L, which used the same 17113698 injectors but with a returnless/non-referenced fuel system at your same 58psi rail pressure.

first start - 04072023 - 17113698 returnless injector data.hpt

Potential Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by blindsquirrel View Post
    Here's your file, with injector data taken from a 2006 Express 2500 4.8L, which used the same 17113698 injectors but with a returnless/non-referenced fuel system at your same 58psi rail pressure.

first start - 04072023 - 17113698 returnless injector data.hpt
    Thank you for the guidance on this. I had missed that I needed to compensate for the returnless/pump change. Went for my first test drive today and logged the result. While I can tell I have a long way to go in the tuning, the engine was smooth (drivable).