Thread: C6 Z06 tune for O2 sensor error

Potential Tuner

C6 Z06 tune for O2 sensor error

Hello - need some advice. I have a totally stock 08 Z06 corvette. i have a problem where the engine often gives a 0420 code - O2 sensor error - this is a known problem with 07 and 08 Z06, and GM has a revised calibration for the computer that eliminates the problem. I dont really want to pay the dealer to do this for me, (i dont even want my car in their hands if it was free) and my car is long out of warranty. Does anyone have a suggestion how I might do this myself? i have some experience with hp tuners, and I own the hardware and software. just not sure if this kind of parameter is available in the tuning software

i would like the car to still pass New York inspection, so it needs to give a good status for the O2 sensors
    justin
    Last edited by jkg2101; 01-03-2023 at 07:14 PM.

Potential Tuner
    If I just go to the editor and under 'Engine Diagnostics" subheading "DTC", i can look up P0420 and P0430.
    If I was to change the action for these codes from "MIL on first error" to "no Error reported", this would solve the problem of the check engine light and allow the car to pass emissions. Is that correct? I understand this might not be legal with the state inspection process

Dodgy but sure, just turn the MIL Light off if you dont care about the error itself

Senior Tuner
    do u know what the factory do to fix it ? if its just a widening of the threshold before it triggers then u may be able to just raise/lower the threshold of the error so it dosnt set but still works for the tests, oxygen sensor exhaust in engine diag tab may help it with the rear 02's

P0420 is not 'O2 sensor error', it's Catalyst Efficiency.

Circuit/System Description

Important: A new converter with less than 100 miles on it may set DTC P0420 or P0430 due to out-gassing of the internal matting. Operating the vehicle at highway speeds for approximately 1 hour may correct the condition.