Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Holley Sniper 92mm Throttle Body - Idle Air

Tuner in Training

Holley Sniper 92mm Throttle Body - Idle Air

I'm not sure if this is normal or not, but this is my first time really diving in to tuning. I have a 92mm Holley Sniper throttle body on my LS 5.3 (TBSS intake manifold on a Gen3 LM7), and my IAC will drop to 0, and the throttle screw is backed out completely, yet there is still airflow coming through. Is that a normal thing, and I just need to adjust my base airflow to accommodate that? Essentially what I've been doing is to bring down my Base Running Airflow 3g/s, and the idle is a lot more stable. I'm still dropping it lower to even get the IAC to open up while actually sitting at idle. Is that normal?

Sometimes these big TBs let in soo much air, even with the set screw closed all the way it’s too much (I assume It’s stock cam?)

Email Tunes, [email protected]
    96 TA Blown/Stroked, 4L80E/Fab 9
    15 C7 A8 H/C 2.3 Blower/PI
    14 Gen 5 Viper
    Custom Mid Engine chassis, AKA GalBen C

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Charles View Post
    Sometimes these big TBs let in soo much air, even with the set screw closed all the way it?s too much (I assume It?s stock cam?)
    It's a Summit 8712 cam made for more low end (since it's in a Jeep). Specs from a previous thread:

• Engine was built with 209/217 112 lsa mild summit cam (8712), LS6 style valve springs, flat top 4.8L style pistons, TBSS intake manifold, 92MM Holley Sniper TB, 36lb flex fuel injectors (12613411), block hugger headers, catalytic converters deleted, custom 2.5" exhaust to a Borla XR-1 muffler.

Advanced Tuner
    Have you checked for any vacuum leaks?