Thread: Cold start Woes...

Potential Tuner

Cold start Woes...

Hi, i am new to this tuning aspect, but definitely not to building cars. My son and i swapped a 1st gen s10, bought a mail order tune from a respectable shop. Well it has not been fun, i filled out the paperwork for all my engine/trans. 5.3 BTR stage 4 truck cam 8.1L truck injectors, cable throttle, stock MAF, 3400 Precision stall, 4L60e, all needed. I received pcm back, put in truck, starts idles, till closed loop then i lose everything. O2's wont read, throttle does not read... found out when i purchased the credits for it, he had tuned it for a manual, 6.0L car. I tried segment swaps, nope, bought complete auto tune off repository, and it works. Never got email back from the Tuner, tried more than one email address too. Now it runs great, drives great, used the Bluecat trans tool, worked great, but now it is colder, and truck will not start below 50*F. It hits once and dead, then just cranks.
    Have to feed it 1/8 throttle or so till it hits 50* then it takes off on its own. I have tried a few things i read here, but to no avail. Just hoping someone can send me down the right path.
    I have them attached; hope they show up.

1st tune is the tune i got to work with the car auto and paste all engine parameters.
    2nd tune is after bluecat trans tool, and me trying things i have read on here.
    Then couple cold start tries.

not sure if it worked.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by SEC; 11-14-2022 at 09:39 AM.
    As always, Support our Troops.

96 Lm7 swapped Camaro

Senior Tuner
    Who are these email tuners that are just leaving customers without communication?

By the sounds of it.. this is a throttle body set up issue. With a cam or other mods. The engine needs more air than the IAC passage can provide. Really the flow around the blade and the stock hole in the blade should set the minimum amount of air the engine will need and the IAC passage will trim arond that.